The Prince – Kiera Cass

the prince

The Prince (The Selection #0.5) by Kiera Cass
Published May 5, 2013 by HarperTeen

Source: purchased

There is a rising trend of novellas in the YA genre and I have to say I love it! I think it is so wonderful that authors have the ability to give us a nugget story to tie us over between books while sometimes gaining a different view on certain scenes.

The Prince novella is about Maxon and takes place before and during the beginning of The Selection. I really enjoyed Maxon’s POV but I have to say this fell short for me compared to the full length novels. In the beginning we see Maxon’s interactions with a foreign royal his age who happens to be a girl. Living in the palace prevents Maxon from not only having friends his age but also interacting with girls. It was great to see some of The Selection from Maxon’s POV but this did not supply a large amount of important information where I felt it was necessary to read.

I would recommend picking this up if you loved The Selection and/or like Maxon otherwise this is not required to read before picking up The Elite.

Rating

4star

2 thoughts on “The Prince – Kiera Cass

Leave a comment